Now offering OPOTA classes!
There is a lot of helpful information and links contained here. Handling a gun safely and legally is a big deal, we tried not to miss anything that might be on your mind. So, take your time, look around, and learn about Concealed Carry. If we missed something, or you have any questions at all, feel free to contact us!
Q: Does Action Defense meet the State of Ohio’s requirements for a Concealed Carry Class?
A: Yes. Our classes meet and exceed the State of Ohio's requirements.
Q: What do I need to bring with me to class?
A: Your valid Ohio Drivers License, a willingness to learn.
Q: What about inclement weather on the day I am scheduled to attend the outdoor range session?
A: Some dates we might use an outdoor shooting range. Please be sure to wear weather-appropriate clothing.
Q: How long is my Certificate of Competency good for?
A: 3 Years from the date that you received your certificate.
Q: How old do you have to be to apply for my Concealed Carry Handgun License (CHL)?
A: In the State of Ohio you must be 21 years old to apply for your CHL.
Q: How do I get a Concealed Carry Handgun License (CHL)?
A: Complete the training and educational requirements by attending a CCW Class and earn your Certificate of Competency. Bring a copy of your Certificate of Competency, a passport photo of yourself, your completed State of Ohio Application for License to a Carry Handgun, and $67.00. You must call your Sheriff's Department for an appointment and their specific requirements.
Q: How long does it take to receive my Concealed Carry Handgun License?
A: As long as you meet the law’s requirements, the sheriff must issue a concealed handgun license within 45 days of receiving your properly completed application.
Q: How long is my Concealed Carry Handgun License good for?
A: All licenses expire 5 years after the issue date.
Q: Can I enroll my children into your CCW Class?
A: We welcome them and encourage you to do so! We do allow children 13 and over to attend with their parents. Obviously they will not be able to obtain a CHL until they are 21 years old, however the certificate of completion is good for 3 years.
State Of Ohio Concealed Carry Laws Manual is a publication summarizing Ohio’s concealed carry laws. This edition covers changes made in Ohio Senate Bill 199 that become effective March 21, 2017.
Sign up to hear from us about specials, sales, and events.